News Flash


Posted on: September 17, 2019

What do my property taxes pay for?

Fremont residents pay property taxes annually and the check is made to the County. But what happens after that? We are often asked this question. This information is being provided in an effort to help answer it.

Once the County receives your property tax payment, they split it based on the property tax requests made by the various taxing authorities. In Fremont, there are seven different local governments that request property taxes. In the latest tax year, the taxes from Fremont residents were split as follows:

  • Fremont Public Schools - 60%
  • City of Fremont - 19%
  • Dodge County - 13%
  • Metropolitan Community College - 5%
  • Natural Resources District (NRD) - 2%
  • Education Services Unit (ESU) - 1%
  • Ag Society - <1%

Pie Chart of how taxes are split

A home with an assessed value of $125,000 pays approximately $2,400 in property taxes.  19%, or $477.28, of the total property taxes you pay goes to the City of Fremont.

The illustration below shows how that amount is broken out into the services made available by the City.  Note that street maintenance and construction are funded by gas tax and sales tax. 

Tree Chart of what taxes pay for

The spreadsheet below further defines what services are provided by each department listed. 

Spreadsheet of what taxes pay for

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in home

Utilize Online Services

Posted on: April 3, 2020

Care and Share Program

Posted on: April 3, 2020

COVID-19 Resources

Posted on: March 27, 2020

Cross-Connection Survey

Posted on: February 13, 2020

2020 State of the City Address

Posted on: January 23, 2020

Flood Inspection Protocol

Posted on: March 21, 2019

CDC Flood Clean Up Information

Posted on: March 19, 2019